Who Am I?

50 random facts about me, Sammiwitch…

Who I am can change on a daily basis…but there are certain things that always remain:

  1. I am a Witch
  2. I am a Pagan
  3. I am not an ‘extreme’ feminist – I believe in equality for all 
  4. I am a writer
  5. I am a vegetarian
  6. I am a poet (perhap not a great one!)
  7. I am grounded by nature, and inspired by it
  8. I am on my own pathway, as you are on yours
  9. I am an artist (again, perhaps not a great one!)
  10. I am a crafter – I love to make things
  11. I am a thinker
  12. I prefer to listen than talk
  13. I love to read
  14. I love to sit sometimes and just be
  15. I read the tarot (as you may have worked out through exploring my blog!)
  16. I also read the runes, scry, interpret dreams and work with a pendulum (amongst other things…)
  17. I don’t meditate nearly enough as I should
  18. I try to look for the silver lining in every cloud
  19. I respect everyone’s right to be who they are
  20. I respect everyone’s right not to agree with me
  21. I respect everyone’s right not to understand why I don’t agree with them
  22. I collect and work with crystals on a daily basis
  23. I love water – seas, rivers, streams, especially if they are cut off from civilisation
  24. I am happy in my own company…
  25. …Sometimes that makes me a little anti-social
  26. I have been described (fairly often) as a little eccentric
  27. I am inspired by the raw power of the elements
  28. I believe in ghosts
  29. I am interested in the paranormal
  30. I sometimes bite my tongue when I should really scream and shout
  31. I have a varied and ecclectic taste in music
  32. I am quite happy to laugh at myself with others, if I am allowed to laugh with others when they laugh at themselves
  33. I believe every action has a consequence (sometimes more than one)…some may be small, some not so, depending on the action
  34. I have a BSc in Geography from Aberystwyth
  35. My maternal Grandfather was born in Ukraine
  36. My Father is Welsh, and I identify with my Welsh heritage perhaps more so than anything else.
  37. I practice a mixture of Celtic and Folk magic, reflecting my ancestral heritage, but I am influenced also by the ancient cultures of Egypt and Greece (my academic interests)
  38. I have always been interested in history, specifically the prehistoric to Tudor times
  39. Mitchell’s Fold, a stone circle in Shropshire, is one of the places that has had one of the most profound effects on me.
  40. I am proud (humbly so, I would hope!) of The Moonstone emagazine and its writers; it is a small pagan emagazine I started in December 2010
  41. I believe forgiveness is one of the greatest gifts we can give…
  42. …but also believe that it can be misued when people offer to forgive us for something they percieve we have done, not something we have actually done
  43. I believe that everything happens for a reason, although not everything requires interpreting
  44. I love the art of John William Waterhouse; his paintings are how I see the world
  45. When I was younger hearing the song ‘Fields of Gold’ by Sting would always make me cry…it sometimes still does…and I have never been able to explain why
  46. I have two cats who I gave ancient Egyptian names, one is called Bast after the goddess with the same name and the other is called Khepri named after the Scarab-headed god of transformation
  47. I have a Welsh dragon tattoo above my right ankle
  48. I can never resist buying earrings
  49. I read The Lord of the Rings in its entirity once a year
  50. My favourite colour has always been purple

Now, you know me a little better…who are you?  If you feel like taking up the ‘Who am I? challenge and posting some random things about yourself (you don’t have to come up with 50!), please feel free to link to your post below…

*************

Some other bloggers have already posted their ‘Who Am I?’ 50 random facts…follow the links below to check out their posts:

Stay for a Spell

Witchy_Girl

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in Pagan Insights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Who Am I?

  1. It's a Wiccan Life says:

    Hmm maybe one day I’ll write 50 things about myself on my blog. lol but for now I’ll just share a couple that I have in common with you: (sorry in advance for the long comment),
    ~I am not an ‘extreme’ feminist – I believe in equality for all, (as odd as this may sound coming from me, I agree with you here).
    ~I am a writer, (Only in regards to blog post, I hate doing essays).
    ~I prefer to listen than talk (Depends on the situation, but I’m shy so most times I often listen).
    ~I love to read
    ~I love to sit sometimes and just be
    ~I try to look for the silver lining in every cloud
    ~I respect everyone’s right to be who they are
    ~I respect everyone’s right not to agree with me
    ~I respect everyone’s right not to understand why I don’t agree with them
    ~I am happy in my own company, (to a point so that this doesn’t happen often–>Sometimes that makes me a little anti-social).
    ~I believe in ghosts
    ~I am interested in the paranormal
    ~I sometimes bite my tongue when I should really scream and shout
    ~I believe every action has a consequence (sometimes more than one)…some may be small, some not so, depending on the action
    ~I believe that everything happens for a reason, although not everything requires interpreting
    ~I have the words Liberty, Justice, Equality tattoo above my right ankle
    ~My favourite colour has always been purple
    I would love to learn to read tarot and do rune castings 🙂
    Sorry again for ranting and leaving a long comment,
    Blessed Be!!!

  2. faedust says:

    Regarding #3, feminism isn’t about placing women over men, but recognizing that we live in a patriarchal society and therefore must work to achieve equality. The main part is equality. Once we have that, the word feminism will have no meaning, and we can drop it.

    There are perhaps people who interpret it differently, but they are deviant from the original purpose.

    • sammiwitch says:

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Although my blog is geared towards spirituality rather than sociology or politics I think that you raise some interesting points. Perhaps I should have stated that I am not an ‘extreme’ feminist rather than just ‘feminist’. What I mean by the statement is that it is very easy for the pendulum to swing between extremes and completely miss the middle ground, and then we are back facing the same issues…Thanks again for commenting, I am off to amend my post 🙂 Brightest Blessings

      • faedust says:

        You’re welcome! Sometimes the more extreme viewpoints are the ones that get the most attention. 😦

        Also, thank you for listening with an open mind. It’s too rare these days.

        Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

