Feeling the pressure of a deadline…well, that’s new!

So, with one day before the next issue of my eMagazine is released, you would think that everything that needed doing, was done, right?  Not exactly…

This month, no matter how hard I have tried to keep to my usual timetable, it has not seemed possible…in fact, I would go so far as to say, if my emag planning was a game of chess I would have been outmanouvoured every time!

I don’t know why, but obstacles and hiccups seemed to have dogged me these past few days…I hasten to add here, these obstacles have had nothing to do with the emagazine itself, rather all the submitted articles from our beautiful and talented contributors were in well before the deadline…the emagazine was almost finished in its entirety a week ago…and yet, as usual, according to my planning timetable that has served me well over the past 16 issues, when it came to sitting down and doing the final proof-reading etc, something would come up…the phone would ring…there would be a knock at the door…the computer started playing up for no reason…at one point, even one of my cat’s intervened when they jumped up on my lap without any warning, then jumped onto my desk and sent papers flying…if I wasn’t feeling the pressure of a deadline, I’m sure the whole thing would have been quite amusing!

The most annoying thing about the whole thing is that I have always endeavoured to avoid the pressures of deadlines, at school, at university and now with my writing.  Even though I can work under pressure, and work well, I always prefer to take things in my stride and approach things calmly.  And most of the time, I have managed to achieve this.

So, why, on the cusp of another issue release, should my endeavour to complete my work within a satisfactory timeframe (that is, according to me, a few days ago!) be insufficient to make it a reality?  Is there a lessen I am supposed to be learning here?  Well, if there is one, I haven’t found it yet (any enlightening comments and interpretations will be grately received below, in the comments section – thank you 🙂 )

I eventually got it all done though…whine over…

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels, Pagan Insights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feeling the pressure of a deadline…well, that’s new!

  1. Neferet says:

    I always pop in and read your blog each day. Would you mind if I added it to the “Sites to See” section of Stay for a Spell? 🙂

Leave a Reply

