Visit to a Sacred Well

Yesterday was one of those days that makes me realise how lucky I am to live where I do.  I say this because not everyone has a sacred well on their doorstep…

The day was fine and bright, yet the breeze still carried a chill – the perfect conditions for a quick trip out!  We walked the short distance from the main path to the well and was greeted by the sound of water gently cascading over stone as we approached.  When we reached the water we found it to be amazingly clear, spreading out from the stream at the bottom of the spring across a large flat, almost covered entirely with lush, green vegetation. Some researchers have suggested that this well may have been a sacred site as far back as the Iron Age! Historically the well has been associated with the curing of ailments, eye complaints in particular.

The site was very peaceful…indeed it seems to be one the most well-kept secrets of my local area.  We touched the water that issued from the sacred well…did it feel sacred? Perhaps it is just my particular wish for it to have felt different somehow, but I would say that yes, there was something special about that water. 

It is certainly a place to go for cleansing, one I shall no doubt return to again and again – I felt refreshed after our visit.  It is also a place of inspiration – my creative streak has hardly paused for breath since returning!

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Visit to a Sacred Well

  1. Neferet says:

    That is so amazing! I wish I had something like that in my area, because that looks absolutely beautiful. 🙂

  2. Jayleigh says:

    I love this photo. I’m so happy to find a pagan blogger!

Leave a Reply

