Respect for all living creatures

I came across a very sad news story today on Yahoo, involving the killing of a ‘giant rat’ in north-east England.  (For the story you can read it on yahoo here).

I don’t intend to go into detail here about what happened; partly because I find it so upsetting to discuss. Suffice it to say that a man caught and killed this defenceless creature and then decided to boast about his actions to reporters.

At any rate, the point of this post I suppose is this…is this what we have become?  The wanton killing of animals, as if they don’t mean anything is simply not right.  I do not advocate that everyone should become vegetarian, but respecting anything else that is alive surely isn’t beyond the realms of human decency, is it?  As a pagan, I find animal cruelty distressing, whether the animal is a pet or wild, and killing something without a legitimate reason seems an empty, pointless act, with no redeeming merit.

The general consensus of others who have read this story is that it probably wasn’t even a rat, more likely a coypu, which is harmless. I at least found it heartening that so may comments on the story roundly condemned the killing of this poor creature. Let us hope that something good may come of this cruel act and that people will accord just a little more value to life…all life.

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Respect for all living creatures

  1. Neferet says:

    That is just horrible. That rat was causing him no harm, and he had no reason to kill it. What a horrible way to go, too! It sounds like he beat the poor creature to death. And since I’ve adopted a pet rat, I understand even more how intelligent they are. Stories like this make me miserable to know that this is what our society is evolving into.

  2. M. says:

    I have my own demons to fight with right now as I have been struggling for some time AGAIN on a vegetarian diet. 6 years I did not touch meat and then my energy just plummeted. It does not help being a fitness and yoga instructor which requires more energy than a desk job. The doctors confirmed that I need iron and quick. I knew that was the problem because it was the first time in 6 years where I started to carve meat. My body was telling me what I needed. I gave in. I ate meat for a few months and took supplements. My energy went up and my cravings stopped so I stopped eating meat again. Maybe a year or so now and it is starting again although I took supplements. It does not seem to work. My energies drop and my craving is back. The less I do physically, the less I struggle. But the more I do on the fitness/ yoga side (NO, I am not a fitness fanatic but just do the bare minimum) the more my energy drops and I think: MEAT. I wonder if my body just does not accept iron supplements in tablet form as well as liquid.
    Where am I going with this? I just watched the clip wondering if that would be a good idea and I feel sick now. I am getting grey hair because I don’t want animals to die for me so I can eat them and then this guy goes and kills because …. Well, I don’t even know why. A probably pregnant and harmless animal minding it’s own business get’s killed and he seems to be proud of it. I struggle to put meat on my plate to make me physically feel better, but it would not make me feel mentally better. Body over mind? Mind over body? Why can’t I find a middle?
    The mindless cruelty on his behalf just reflects our society that has become so desensitised. Would I protect my family? Of course I would and I am sure so would everybody else never mind vegetarian, vegan, peace loving hippy, …, but where was the threat here?
    WOOPS! That was a bit of a rant. Sorry!

  3. Jayleigh says:

    I so, so agree. I went to an Earth Day service yesterday and they showed a music video of “Morning Has Broken” with images of animals and nature. The beauty and innate wisdom of the animals made me want to cry–they are always right there, just being who they are, and most of the time we don’t give them the respect they deserve. I’ve always liked the idea (from a book, Beauty by Sheri S Tepper) that you can have a cathedral dedicated to animals rather than to human saints. Imagine a place specifically dedicated to revering the wisdom of animals!

  4. I agree with you completely. There’s something to be said for the character of a person who would kill an animal just for the sake of killing. Our society has warped our view of animals so much that most people don’t even understand what goes into the burgers and steaks that eventually make it to our plates. It is a culture of ignorance, and acts like this only contribute to that.

    • sammiwitch says:

      I agree with what you say; ignorance is to blame. In this case especially, I just can’t understand what would make someone kill an animal for no apparent reason. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Brightest Blessings

Leave a Reply

