He who watches over me as I write

Whenever I need inspiration, or gentle guiding hand, especially when I am writing, I instintively turn to Thoth, or to give him his Egyptian but less common name, Djehuti.  I have a small statue of him close by me, sitting, watching, guarding my desk.

Thoth is often portrayed with the head of an ibis, a long-legged wading bird with a long bill.  The ibis was venerated by the ancient Egyptians due to this connection with Thoth.

He is thrice special to me.  Not only was Thoth the ancient Egyptian god of writing, but also a god of magic.  He is a lunar god and helps to maintain the balance of the universe.  Another sphere he is associated with is the development of science and knowledge.  The perfect patron for the witch-with-a-science-background-who-also-writes. 🙂

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in Pagan Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to He who watches over me as I write

  1. Lily Wight says:

    I have a portrait of Cernunnos in his stag aspect on my desk. Thoughts of trees and forests always help me to focus and he reminds me to trust me instincts. 😉

  2. Neferet says:

    I have a statue of Thoth on my desk for when I sit down to write. 🙂 He’s a wonderful god, and one that I personally resonate well with!

    • sammiwitch says:

      I thought you might with your Tameran Wicca and writing background 🙂 I agree, He is wonderful, and I would hate to be without him. Brightest Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

Leave a Reply

