Eurovision…love it or loathe it?

Just for fun…Eurovision…Love it or Loathe it?

With the first of the semi-finals for the Eurovision Song Contest to be broadcast from Azerbaijan tonight on BBC Three in the UK, I want to know what people think of it.  Do you love it – either secretly or openly?  Or can you not stand the show?

In the UK, the Eurovision Song Contest doesn’t have a great reputation…it is seen as an overly camp joke and is not taken very seriously (and yet they complain when they don’t do particularly well). However, across Europe, Eurovision is taken very seriously.

So, what are your views on it?  If you are a Eurovision fan, who are you backing this year?  Which entries make your toes curl?

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Eurovision…love it or loathe it?

  1. jthornburg says:

    I discovered Eurovision while living in England (76-79) then started watching it again online in 2011 after reading an article about it in The New Yorker–I even did my own version last year. I think it’s great fun and enough of the songs are catchy enough to make me buy the CDs.

  2. Pingback: Eurovision…the verdict | The Life and Times of a Forever Witch

  3. Kadeeae says:

    We never watch the semi-finals but never miss Eurovision. Saturday will see us sat on the sofa, tv on, popcorn at the ready and no doubt complaining. LOL

  4. Cassandra says:

    Hi!
    I watch Eurovision Song Contest every year, but I’m not a huge fan of it. I mean, it’s interesting to see who you like the best, and then who will win, but that’s all.
    Blessings.

  5. I am a huuuuuuuuuuuuuuge Eurovision fan but I never watch the semi finals. I don’t want to spoil the surprise when it comes to the final show… I mean, the moment Alexander Rybak came on stage was priceless for me and my sister. He was gorgeous, played the violin and then we positively melted when he started to sing! I love Eurovision! The whackier and weirder the better! That’s why we always lose and we always hate it (because we Britsh can’t be spontanious! We’re boring… or at least no one wants someone who is interesting and fun to represent us!) … Anywayy, so you’ve got me in the fan camp!
    Rowan
    x~x

Leave a Reply

