As the Solstice Approaches

Not long now until the Summer Solstice is here. 

Every year I get up and watch the sun come up at Midsummer.  I prefer to do this alone as I find it a very peaceful and personal experience.  It gives me time to think and reflect. 

I was very lucky with this picture…it’s of the sun-setting, Midsummer 2011.

However, in the evening I shall be attending a solstice gathering.  There will be people from all different walks of life and pagan backgrounds there.  It’s at the same place where I have been asked to read tarot this summer in a fully restored, genuine gypsy wagon – wow!  It sounds like a very daunting but amazing experience, but I figure that expectations will be higher than usual, which is making me question whether to do it or not – I wouldn’t want to disappoint anyone. 

I have also been planning a spiritual retreat with a difference.  It’s unusual because most of the ‘retreat’ will be spent at home.  The premise centres around how we can improve the quality of our spiritual lives without completing removing ourselves from the world in which we live.  So it’s an experiment of sorts.  I am planning to begin it at Midsummer – it feels like a very auspicious time for such a thing.

Do you have any plans for the solstice year and who will you be spending it with, if anyone?

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to As the Solstice Approaches

  1. Pingback: Been Away but Now I’m Back! | The Life and Times of a Forever Witch

  2. sparksofme says:

    Oh my goodness, you have to do it!! What’s truly the point to life if opportunities such as Gypsy Wagon Tarot Readings are not joyously pounced upon?? (I totally understand, as a person who has grown from a seedling who would have been too socially-anxious to *get* a reading from a witch in a Gypsy Wagon, to a sprout who would one day Adore to have the privilege of being asked as you have). I suppose it might help you feel at ease if you tell clients there are always alternate interpretations to the cards, and if an idea does not deeply resound with them, they can discard it. (Resound… does not mean they have to -like- what the cards say, does it!)

    Anyway, my plans for Solstice are yet unformed. I have a vague recollection of being invited to a Solstice gathering… and will follow the trails of memory to figure out who asked me. I also typically do something solitary for the big holidays. Usually involving dancing. Probably involving incense and crystals. I need to write about it.

    • sammiwitch says:

      I think you’re right, it does sound like a too good an opportunity to miss. And if things start going wrong on the day, I’ll have to deal with it then rather spending time worrying about ‘what ifs’ now. Thanks for the much needed advice – I am seeing things a lot clearer now. 🙂 Brightest Midsummer Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

      • sparksofme says:

        Good good!!! Please blog all about it 🙂 Good to live in the present moment, I spend farrrrr too much time what-iffing, actually 😉 Learning to give that up and go for it!
        Blessed be~
        Brigid Diana

  3. Neferet says:

    I have no plans yet for the solstice. In fact, I nearly forgot about it! I’ve spent the last week with my mother in the hospital, and eventually I just lost track of what day it was. Congratulations for getting to read tarot at such a wonderful gathering! I am jealous already! Have a wonderful holiday, and blessed be!

    • sammiwitch says:

      I hope your mother gets better soon. I hope my tarot reading abilities can live up to expectations. I have never read at a fete or fair or anything like that before, so I am wondering whether I have bitten off more than I can chew. I suppose there is only one way I’ll find out! Brightest Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

      • Neferet says:

        She was released yesterday and is weak, but is doing well. Thanks for your concern. 🙂 And I’m sure you will be able to handle yourself well when reading tarot. Just stay confident! Blessed be, and nefer sedjmek!

  4. Lily Wight says:

    I love Midsummer too. I’ll be reflecting on the last 6 months and considering how I can improve things during the next 6!
    Good luck with your readings, I’m sure you’ll feel inspired in such surroundings and do a wonderful job x

Leave a Reply

