Herbarium

I have been doing a lot of work with herbs recently, and this has involved the spending of many a long hour reading through my books on herblore.  As I was reading an old volume, I came across a section entitled ‘herbarium’.  Surprisingly I had never heard of the term before, but as I read the following paragraphs I became immediately aware that I had of course come across the concept.

Picture credit: Wikipedia

Anyway, for those of you who do not know what a herbarium is, it is a personal herb (or flower) identification book.  I thought this is a great idea for those of us who work with and grow our own herbs.

The book went on to explain the ins and outs of how to put together your own herbarium, what to include and how to carefully preserves the leaves, stems and flowers of your herb specimens.

So, a herbarium is now on my list of things I want to make…one day.  The plan is to combine my herbarium with my herbal (a book of descriptions and uses of herbs) to create a very witchy tome in which I will store all my knowledge and information on the magickal uses of herbs.

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in Hearth Witchcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

