On My Travels: Byards Leap

I stumbled upon this little local legend by chance on Saturday.  My mother and her friends had previously been to a local cafe decorated with witchy ornaments, and of course, this being just up my street, they wanted to take me to visit it.  Well, we went and admired the witches, some hanging from the ceiling, some sitting on shelves behind the counter, ordered cake and strawberry milkshakes and headed outside to have them in the glorious sunshine, something we haven’t had much of until this day (the previous day, in my opinion was positively cold!).  Anyway, I digress.  From our seats outside we noticed, not too far away the notice board above positioned close to a small wood.  So naturally, we went over to have a read and so were introduced to the local legend.

And so to the (brief) tale…

A witch lived close by in cave, and harried the local population whenever she got the chance.  One day, the villagers decided that enough was enough; the witch had to go.  So they found a champion and told him to pick any horse he wanted.  He chose a bay coloured horse named Byard.  The champion climbed upon the back of Byard and went off to kill the witch.  When he approached her cave, she managed to trick him and climb upon the horse.  As they fought, the witch dug one of her long, sharp nails into the horse’s side.  In agony, Byard made his legendary jump of sixty feet, and then they vanished.  The area was rid now rid of the pesky witch.

Four horseshoes now mark the spot where Byard landed after his legendary jump.

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On My Travels: Byards Leap

  1. I love local witchy legends! I had an experience at Belas Knap some years ago which – while not exactly witchy – might interest you due to all the paranormal events going on up there!

    I’d never heard of Byard’s Leap – great story 🙂

  2. byronycoffin says:

    What am I thinking about your local legend? Why do we always have long claws for finger nails and strings for hair? I have rather nice hair. But of course I think I do anyway. And perhaps the witch was trying to solve the upcoming problems global warming will affect our weather. Anyway I just had back surgery today and today my doctor had his first failure and I’ve been given tons of drugs so me and my ideas may not be viewed as valid points. Anyway girl, much Wiccan love and your lucky to live in such a place that actually has witchy legendary tails of a witch at all. Bright Blessings. Byrony.

    • sammiwitch says:

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I hope your back is ok. It was nice to stumble upon this little local legend 🙂 . Brightest Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

      • byronycoffin says:

        My dear thanks for the warm wishes I hurt everywhere now and that is just wrong. Now below my knee that needs surgery I have no good feeling in my calf and foot. You are a wonderful writer and you observe your surroundings and use that in clever ways. Bright Blessings. Byrony

  3. Neferet says:

    Local legends are always fascinating. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

