A Brief Visit to Shrewsbury

So, as I made mention in my previous post (here), we have spent a couple of days in Shrewsbury.  It is a lovely county town, and full with the brim of history.

I was introduced to Shrewsbury when I was young, through the books of Ellis Peters.  I have spoken of Brother Cadfael a few times on this blog, as I attribute my love of herbs to the fictional Benedictine monk.  For all those scientists out there, Shrewsbury was also the birthplace of Charles Darwin.

However,  it wasn’t until I was at university that I first visited the town.  This was because it was easier for the boyfriend to meet up with his parents here than travelling to Aberystwyth…and we have been visiting Shrewsbury as often as we can ever since.

I also have to say that one of my favourite ethnic / new age shops is to be found here, Sarasvati in The Parade, so if you are ever in Shrewsbury, I recommend visiting it.

If history and architecture are your thing, then Shrewsbury, with its old churches and Tudor buildings will certainly appeal to you.

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Brief Visit to Shrewsbury

  1. Cassandra says:

    I’ve always loved towns with the mediaeval look. I find them very interesting and with a mystical atmosphere. Thank you for sharing the photos. 🙂
    Brightest blessings!

Leave a Reply

