Working with Chalk

This isn’t something that I usually do, showing my draft attempts at stuff.  I don’t mind people seeing the finished article – if I am happy with it – but normally I am a little more particular about them viewing my failures, my practice runs, my plans and drafts.  Perhaps I have grown over the passed couple of days…perhaps I was just looking for a quick post 😉 – who knows!

Over the last couple of days I have been moved to work with chalk.  Why?  I am not sure. It might have something to do with the palaeolithic artwork I have been researching, chalk being a natural and easily attainable material.  It might.  At any rate, I felt a need to crack open a new box of chalk and experiment with the colour and texture.  When I had bought the chalk a couple of weeks ago, I had no immediate plan to use them, or any idea how I was going to use them.

At first I pulled out a large sheet of black card from my card stash, but after looking at it for a few seconds, I knew it wasn’t what I wanted.  So back it went.  Then I remembered that I had bought a small sheet of ‘amethyst’ coloured card (according to the label) and this felt better instantly.

And then I just went with it.  I had no idea what my intention was at the beginning of this.  I had no clear direction, no particular image that I wanted to see when it was finished.  However, when I looked it over when it was complete, I was pleased.  It was, I felt, just what I had wanted to do.  The colour blending was fun and help to give depth to the chalk drawing – even though the image of goddess is perhaps a little off and has a ghost-like quality to it.  The symbols of the ankh, pentagram and spiral seemed to express where I am at the moment; at a cross-roads with witchcraft, ancient Egypt and early spirituality (‘primitive’ sounds quite insulting and patronising!).

Any way, it is a very simple drawing.  There is nothing new or groundbreaking here and I am aware of that.  But I am still happy with it.  I could, if I felt moved to, alter Her shape a little, centre her on the card, iron out a few imperfections…I could but I won’t.  It is (compared to my usual standards) a fine first attempt, one that I feel doesn’t need to be altered or reworked, and so it shall remain as it is.  Perhaps that is why I felt I could share it…?

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in Pagan Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Working with Chalk

  1. Hello 🙂 I would like to nominate you for the Sunshine Award. For more information visit: http://lotustarotblossom.com/2012/08/11/the-sunshine-award/

  2. I think She’s beautiful! This attempt is way better than my final drawing could ever be! Be proud chicka, because you are a talented artist. 🙂

  3. byronycoffin says:

    Dearest Sammiwitch, I used my computer to copy your chalk impression of the Goddess. She is a beautiful representation of the old school goddess and I am so proud of you, I am impressed by you just taking some chalk and making a masterpiece, It is truly beautiful and I would love a real live drawing just like it to have for my bedroom. I wonder if you could make me one and mail it to me and I’ll pay for postage, paper, and chalk. I’ll also want some more of your art. Please think on this and contact me here and we’ll exchange email addresses and you and I can talk privately. I think it is so inspiring and I would love to get some more in the color you’ve choosen as a background to match my bedroom and I’ll paper the whole bedroom with your art work. Just a thought my friend. Brightest Blessings. Byrony

    • sammiwitch says:

      Thank you for such a lovely comment, Byrony. Your faith in my talents is a little overwhelming, and perhaps a little misplaced, although I am honoured nonetheless 🙂 . After all, the picture above is so simple, I believe anyone could do it! Feel free to email me anytime though, the email address is sammiwitch@gmail.com. Brightest Blessings, and I hope you are feeling better ~*~)O(~*~

Leave a Reply

