Crystals and Reading the Tarot

I love working with, using, wearing and being surrounded by crystals.  They are pretty to look at, but are so much more than that.

This photo shows my tarot reading table, complete with reading cloths and crystals…

I posted this photo as part of my Tarot Cards and a Gypsy Wagon post, and the wonderful Missus Tribble asked

…Could you please explain the meaning of your crystals?…

These are the crystals that I choose to use when doing face-to-face readings:

Rose Quartz (far left) encourages patience and compassion, gentleness and acceptance.  I use rose quartz in this context to help ensure that the person receiving the reading remains patient with me, after all, I can only interpret the cards; it’s not up to me what they say, which, along with the next crystal…

Amethyst (second left and second right) works to prevent ‘shooting of the messenger syndrome’.  A thing to remember with the tarot is sometimes the truth hurts.  I don’t want to upset anyone, I certainly don’t want to make you angry or depressed; but as I said, I don’t pick your cards and I am not going to lie about what they say.  That would defeat the object, wouldn’t it?  If a card suggests that you are greedy and materialistic, I will tell you that; however, I might find a nice way of doing it – if I can.  Amethyst serves other functions; it is a calming crystal and promotes the rest and relaxation of anyone in its vicinity.  It is also a highly spiritual stone and can help  me throughout the reading.

Selenite (middle front) is the crystal of mystical awareness.  It is used for clarity and connection, gentle healing and as an energy amplifier.  One of the reasons that I use this crystal when reading the tarot is that it works well with our intuition.  I have a tendency to question everything and second guess things all the time, even though I know I shouldn’t always and instead should trust myself once in a while.  I use selenite to help remedy this.

Desert Rose (far right) is another form of selenite, above. It is also works against distractions and has a peaceful, calming quality.

Citrine (middle back)  Citrine is included here mainly for my benefit when I am reading.  As a stone of upliftment and positive energy, it keeps me positive and uplifted. :-).

Note:  I have only listed the properties of the crystals that are useful when I am reading the tarot; don’t forget they have others too. 🙂

As I mentioned, these are the crystals that I choose to work with when working face-to-face with people.  If I was doing a distance reading via email, for example, the crystals would change.

I also find that for those who are new to the tarot and are a bit apprehensive about having their cards read, crystals are great.  It can be hard for some to move completely away from the negative reputation tarot cards have, so crystals can serve as a safe distraction.

Not to mention the fact that, as said at the beginning of this post, crystals are pretty…who doesn’t like crystals?

Brightest Blessings All!

Sammiwitch ~*~)O(~*~

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Crystals and Reading the Tarot

  1. Pingback: Looking Back – 2012 | The Life and Times of a Forever Witch

  2. la dauphine says:

    I came back to peruse this post again, it’s been ages since I’ve used my tarot cards…I like your tip on amethyst & the quartz.

  3. Love this post. You can read about my adventures with my tarot card reader on my blog.

  4. Pingback: It’s All in the Cards: Tarot Reading and the Human Psyche « Illuminutti

  5. Thank you so much for this, Sammi! I have used Rose Quartz in magic before, to help a couple of friends who were suffering with stress, and I know that Amethyst absorbs negative energy and generally cleanses the home and the soul – but this was very interesting!

    • sammiwitch says:

      No problem. I really enjoyed writing this post and I am really pleased with the reception it has got. I have you to thank for that, as without you asking the question in the first place, I wouldn’t have written it…Thank you Missus Tribble! 🙂
      Brightest Blue Moon Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

    • byronycoffin says:

      Greetings Sammi, I use rose quartz to make holy water during the full moon with a little dab of rose water. I think without the power of the crystals it wouldn’t be the same, I also washed all of my crystals under the full moon. Then I left them out until the second day and it was time to bring them in and put them back on their alter. I am so happy I got a camera and I’m going to take landscapes and do what I want to with it and take beautiful photos and post them and videos on here and hopefully you will all see what I love and the scope of my madness for the Goddess. Brightest Blessings.

      • sammiwitch says:

        Greetings Byrony. Lovely to hear from you and thank you for sharing your knowledge. It’s much appreciated. I am looking forward to seeing your photos. Brightest Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

  6. mysticlovely says:

    I love crystals and Citrine is one of my favourites.

    • sammiwitch says:

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment. I love citrine too, but if I had to choose just one crystal I couldn’t live without I think it would have to be amethyst…at least its amethyst this week! 🙂 Brightest Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

  7. Cassandra says:

    A very useful article. Crystals really can be used in very different ways and have amazing properties.
    I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award. Congratulations! 🙂 Visit my blog to learn more: http://bookofshadowsblog.wordpress.com/2012/08/28/super-sweet-blogging-award/.
    Blessed be,
    Cassandra.

    • Cassandra says:

      Sorry for the two same comments. I guess I clicked Post Comment two times accidentally. You should delete one of the comments. 😉
      Blessings.

      • sammiwitch says:

        Not to worry; I’ll do as you suggest and delete one of them 🙂 Thanks so very very much for nominating me for the Super Sweet Blogger Award…I’ll have to get around to do a post on it soon. Brightest Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

  8. You’ve been nominated for the Sunshine Award! Congrats! Check out the details here: http://ayslynscorner.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/sunshine-award/

    And as always, nice post. 🙂

  9. junahwicca says:

    Hey! Would these crystals work the same if I were just to have one on me? for instance, if I had Rose Quartz with me, do you think it’d help me be more patient and accepting? Great post 🙂

    • sammiwitch says:

      Hey! Broadly, the answer is yes to your question; it all depends on how susceptible you are to the energy of crystals. The only way to find out is try 🙂 However, if you find that the result is not as good as you were hoping there are things that you can to try and improve it.

      One would be to find an alternative crystal that works on the same area. Using the rose quartz example, you could change it for amber which would also inject some energy behind the move to become more patient and accepting, or even ocean jasper which has a more earthly, grounded, masculine energy about it. Another option would be sodalite, which might be more useful if your require patience when you are talking / working with people who annoy or aggravate you.

      Alternatively, it is possible to work on how attuned you are to energy of crystals in general.

      It all depends on what context you want the / a crystal to work in; if you can work that out and pick the crystal that is best suited to the job, then the ‘magic’ should happen. Sorry for the long – and probably garbled – reply but I hope this helps.

      Brightest Blessings, Sammiwitch ~*~)O(~*~

  10. la dauphine says:

    Great post! I love working with crystals!
    Funny, I just got done posting about natal charts and your post was at the top of my reader…kismet!

Leave a Reply

