A little too-inspired?

We often, as writers and bloggers, complain about writers block and running out of things to write about, but is it possible for the situation to be reversed?  Can one be too inspired?  I think so, and I think that a lack of inspiration and being gifted too much, are two sides of the same coin, because ultimately, the results are the same: nothing gets done!

This thought occurred to me today as a direct consequence of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month); let me explain.  Yesterday, after a week of ‘will I / won’t I’, I decided that yes, (I think) I will be joining in NaNoWriMo 2012.  For those of you who don’t know what this is (and they are probably few and far between), you have to write a 50,000 word novel between 1-30 November – for information check out the website.

Firmly – and when I say this, what I mean is that I am 80%  sure – deciding to join in this ‘little’ competition was the first step.  The next stage is planning; you can plan your heart out in the run up to its start, you just can’t start writing it yet.  So before I went to bed last night, I quickly did some calculations to be sure that I had the time to spare to commit to such a substantial project and then, the fun part…to think about what my novel is going to be about.  I came up with two ideas; one a historical novel that has been running through my head for a while and the other was a fantasy, for which I have the bare bones already planned, on tiny scraps of paper dotted about the house (welcome to my world 😉 ).  But which one?

I couldn’t make up my mind then and there, so I decided to sleep on it, but as I closed my eyes, I was leaning towards the historical novel…

…Then I woke up and added another two options to my list – which is crazy.  I’m supposed to be narrowing it down not confusing myself with other choices!  Too many choices, too much inspiration and no progress made!  Now do you understand my thoughts behind this post?

The whole planning stage obviously cannot commence while I am struggling with which option I should pursue…and as luck would have it, the more I think about it, the more befuddled I become!  At this rate, I may not be joining in after all.  If I stop thinking about it, perhaps the right one will bubble to the top of the cauldron…

Do you think I am being ungrateful complaining about being too-inspired?  Should I count myself lucky that I am currently in the position where I can come up with multiple story ideas, knowing full well that this river of inspiration could run dry at any moment? Is anyone considering or already signed up for NaNoWriMo?  How is your planning coming along?

Lots of questions to finish up with, I know.  I bet you feel like you’re in school!

Brightest Blessings

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A little too-inspired?

  1. Pingback: THE ABC’S OF WRITING | COW PASTURE CHRONICLES

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I have that email too…I just started a new job so I attempting to find time…
    or rather a way to do both….I think I will begin though….
    I was out working in the greenhouse and was thinking about it , and came in
    somehow ended on your blog…synchronicity …?
    I am enjoying reading your thoughts here…
    I will be back..(need to finish getting ready for seasons wheel to turn in the greenhouse)
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts…
    Take Care…
    )0(
    ladybluerose

    • sammiwitch says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂 I am glad you enjoyed your visit. I love it when we accidentally come across things we were not looking for – that’s the real magic! Good luck, Brightest Blessings ~*~)O(~*~

  3. I know what you mean, the problem with having so many ideas is that we become overwhelmed and that stops us from moving forward. When I am in this position I write lists and try to get order – when I do this, I find that one idea is far more ready than the others to move forward. So a good idea might be to turn a sheet of paper into a chart with four columns. Go though each idea with characters, settting, plot, theme, inner character development – by the time you have done this – your main contender for the competition will be jumping off the page at you – well I hope so anyway. Brightest blessings and good luck.

  4. byronycoffin says:

    Dear girl,
    Sleep on it again and considered it a blessing you are four times blessed. Good luck dear girl and Bright blessings. Byrony.

  5. Pat says:

    Think you might have been peeping inside my head. Too many ideas, not enough planning, insufficient incentive to organise the ideas I already have. Little sleep, too much thought….My husband says my head needs an off switch!

  6. elfkat says:

    Take a piece of paper and write down an outline or do chapter heading. The one you can do to the end of the proposed book is the one to write down. The others are distractions to lead you from the path and dump you on your butt far from home.

    • sammiwitch says:

      Thanks for the sound advice…it seems so logical and obvious when someone else is telling you what to do…I’m off to find pen and paper 🙂 Brightest Blessings

Leave a Reply

