Kwan Yin

 Kwan Yin is the Chinese goddess of Mercy and Compassion.  She is known by many names across East Asia, including Kwannon in Japan and Guan-eum in Korea.

She represents unconditional love and acceptance.  She is usually depicted as a woman, wearing flowing robes with a delicate hood that covers her head but does not obscure her face.  She carries in one of her hands a jar or vase containing dew which she uses to help relieve pain and suffering.

She is a patron of children, mothers, parents, the needy, the sick, the troubled, the suffering, and acts as a guide to the lost.

She is also considered a fertility goddess, as well as a symbol of good luck, good fortune and good health.

I keep a statue (the one above) of Kwan Yin on my altar, with a peacock feather, which is also considered to be sacred to her.

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in Pagan Insights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kwan Yin

  1. Pingback: Crafting a Staff | the dark and the light

  2. Kwan Yin is one of those Goddesses who bubbled up in the middle of patriarchal Buddhism (yes they are male dominated no matter how much they talk about Vajrayogini etc) in the same way that Mary bubbled up in the middle of the Catholic church. Like I said before in Tibet she was a he as Avalokitesvara, the Bodhisattva of compassion, and he shed a tear and from that the Goddess Tara was manifest. But as these deities moved through China, Korea and Japan he became a she, also assimilating the native female Goddesses of healing and crop fertility.

  3. Mia says:

    How wonderful. I love that you posted this! Thank you so much.
    I had no idea about her connection with peacock feathers. That gives so much meaning to the feathers on my altar, and to a poem I wrote.
    The book I’m reading speaks of her as related to compassionate listening. How were you introduced to her?

    • sammiwitch says:

      I was introduced to her by accident actually; we were given a little Kwan Yin charm as free gift from a Buddhist shop that we frequent. It wasn’t until we got home that we worked out what it was, and since then I have always kept something of her close; that was years ago. She keeps me calm 🙂 I didn’t know about the compassionate listing. Is the poem about peacock feathers or Kwan Yin? Brightest Blessings

  4. I love Kwan Yin, I love her hand with dew in a jar? I did not know that fact. I have a pretty post about her in my Writings Works in Progress blog.
    Happy Monday my Favorite Witch!

    ❈~♥~❈~♥~❈~♥~❈~♥~❈~♥~❈~♥~❈~♥~❈~♥
    PS: Feel free to copy & paste these ALT Key symbols or graphics for use. I did.

    Love,
    Sindy

  5. I worship her Tibetan form as Avalokitesvara with the mantra Om Mani Padme Hum = Homage to the Jewel within the Lotus (one’s spirit within one’s heart and body). Blessings.

    • sammiwitch says:

      Thank you for posting that – it’s much appreciated. I have always been drawn more towards her Chinese form, but her background and history is certainly interesting. Brightest Blessings

  6. shreejacob says:

    Pretty Kwan Yin 🙂

Leave a Reply

