The Witchy Blog Award

Every morning when I wake up, one of the first things I do is power up the computer and see who’s been posting what over night on the blogs I follow.  Needless to say I was overjoyed and humbled to learn that not only have my friends and fellow bloggers, Cassandra and Ayslyn, created a new blog award aimed specifically at witches, wiccans and pagans, but I have been nominated for it!

So a huge well done and congratulations go out to them; it’s a great idea, and the award picture itself (which I shall display with much pride!) is amazing…you can’t go wrong with black cats and pointy hats!

The Rules:
♦  Post the award logo on your blog post.
♦  Thank the blogger who passed the award on to you.
♦  Answer the seven questions below.
♦  Nominate five Wiccan/Pagan bloggers. (If you don’t know five other Wiccan bloggers, nominate as many as you can.)
♦  Give a short description of the blog/blogger, and why you nominated them.
♦  Stop by Ayslyn’s Corner and the Book of Shadows to add your name on the list of bloggers awarded.
♦  You may change the questions, as long as they are still Wiccan- and Pagan-related.

Without further ado, my acceptance speech…

I would like to thank Cassandra over at Book of Shadows for nominating me for this award, and for her kind words about my blog and my writing.  It is so very much appreciated.

The Questions

I. How did you “discover” Wicca/Witchcraft?  I didn’t.  It was just always there; I know that is so clichéd and the answer nearly every witch gives to such questions, but I can’t help it because it is true.   Even though I am the only witch in the family, I suppose I can say I have been influenced by them.  My Grandmother has always come out with folklore and remedies.  My Grandfather – blessed be him, this Samhain – came from Ukraine, and he too brought with him much folklore, remedies and even was periodically given to interpret dreams…

II. Do you grow herbs? Yes.  I am certainly not green-fingered, but I am pleased to say that I am a very lucky garden witch.  I plant things, they grow, I cut them back and they survive another year.  I grow lots of herbs, mainly in tubs.  My biggest triumph was taking cuttings from my lavender last year, which not only survived but thrived.  As I say, I don’t know much about gardening, I just count my blessings…

III. Are you “in the broom closet”? If not, share your “going out” experience.  I am openly a witch and pagan, although I don’t scream and shout about it.  It’s normal for me and I don’t feel like I need to go on about it.  It’s not something that I have ever had to hide, so when I read about other’s experiences about suffering abuse or having to remain hidden because of the fear of not being accepted or becoming a target for abuse, it saddens me greatly.  In this day and age, this shouldn’t be happening.  Most of the western world prides itself on freedom – of speech, expression and religion but where is it when people can’t openly say what and who they are without fear?  Again, I know and appreciate how lucky I am…

IV. What tradition do you follow?  I don’t follow any tradition.  I practice a mix of Celtic and folk witchcraft, but I am influenced by many other traditions and people (as you have probably gathered from this blog!)  I have a sense of what will work for me and what is definitely not for me; I suppose I am an instinctual witch…

V. Do you consider yourself a Witch, a Wiccan or a Pagan (or maybe something else)?  I identify as a Witch and a Pagan.  I have never called myself a Wiccan; the name doesn’t seem to fit well with me…not sure why…

VI. How much of Witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life?  Lots.  As I mentioned it’s normal for me.  Some days, when I am feeling disconnected I have to try harder, but I never really have to go out of my way…I run a little pagan spirituality emagazine, so I have something to do on that every day, so witchcraft’s not only my life and my love, but my work also.

VII. Do you have a Familiar? If you do, tell us how did you meet your Familiar, and how he or she takes a part of your practice (if at all).  I have two, cats named Bast and Khepri.  I got them when they were still kittens as part of I suppose you would call it a private re-homing scheme and we just stumbled across them online.  I don’t think of them as my familiars, but I suppose they behave as I would imagine a familiar would.  They pick up on things when something isn’t right, when I am reading tarot cards or the runes, they will either try to sit on my lap and watch what is going on, or if they can, they will try and sit on the table, as close to the stones or cards as they can get.  When I am working ritual, they try to get involved by sitting in the centre of the circle or next to the altar.  I think they pick up on the energy.  And they are often very determined to be part of things; unfortunately, much to their dismay, I often have to work in another room or encourage them to go outside (but only if the weather is nice; if they don’t want to go, I won’t make them – I am a big softy at heart).

My Nominations

Medieval Witch Project  I just love some of the things this lady has crafted.  I love reading her blog and find her projects and posts inspiring…

The Dark and the Light  I love the way this lady writes!  She blogs about a variety of things and I have never read a post that I didn’t like or didn’t inspire me in some way…

Sheena Cundy A fellow witch and writer and many other things besides!  This lady writes lonvingly from the heart and happily shares her knowledge and experience…

The Raven and The Oak A druidess with a great blog; she covers many issues and her posts are always interesing…I just love reading it…

For the Netjer This is a great blog, full of in-depth posts, which are both interesting and informative…

Brightest Blessings All!

About sammi witch

writer and witch...
This entry was posted in On My Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Witchy Blog Award

  1. Pingback: Nominated For The Witchy Blog Award!! « The Enchanted Solitaire

  2. sparksofme says:

    Thank you so much, my friend. Blessings of Goddess’ Stars. I am deeply honored by your words. 🙂

  3. Super cute witchy award. I will be dedicating a blog post to you today, as you are my favorite witch.

  4. Pingback: The Witchy Blog Award « The Raven and The Oak

  5. Thank you so much for the nomination and kind words!
    I’m on a short hiatus from blogging until I return to London next week but I will post a thank you on there upon my return.

    Thank you again, have a blessed Samhain!

  6. Great post – enjoy today – brightest blessings.

Leave a comment